My Book Picking Process | Feature and Follow Friday

Feature and Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read. It’s all about increasing followers and making new friends! If you want to take part just answer the question and add your post to the link, follow the hosts and featured blogs, and hop from blog to blog!

This Week’s Question

How do you decide what books to read?
Hmm, honestly? There’s a few different ways I’ll pick out a book and start reading.
First – I’ll look through reviews and pick out any books that interest me, then I’ll head on over to Goodreads and amazon and get that bad boy on my Kindle pronto.
Second – When I’m on NetGalley I’ll judge the books by the covers first and their synopsis second (don’t judge!) If I like what I see then I’ll get requesting.
When it comes to the actual picking of a book to sit down and dive right into, well, it can be a very spur of the moment thing. Sometimes I’ll just pick a book that I’m craving (who knew you could get book cravings, but apparently you can), other times I’ll read a book because I need to beat a deadline. I like to read books that I enjoy, so I always aim to read books that I like. Quite often I find that I’ll read books with a similar genre and theme one after the other, so I’ll scour my TBR or Kindle for a book that will give me my next fix.
I’m fairly certain my answer just made me sound like a lunatic, but I’m cool with that. I am what I am, Β and that’s a crazy book loving lunatic.
How do you pick which books you’re going to read? Let me know in the comments!
38 thoughts on “My Book Picking Process | Feature and Follow Friday

  1. Mostly I keep a list in a spreadsheet and keep it organized so I know what to read next…that way I don't fall behind in my ARC's…and can get in some fun reads as well from my TBR pile.

    Like

  2. You so don't sound like a loon! LOL! I haven't tried NetGalley yet, even though I did get an account. I'm scared I won't meet deadlines for book reviews! I'm all about Goodreads too! Happy reading! :)j

    New follower via Bloglovin'! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Ahh, thanks πŸ™‚ I definitely recommend giving it a try! I only got an account this year and I was also nervous about requesting books, but then I saw books that I really wanted to read so I just went for it! I meet most of the deadlines, but even if I don't I'll post my review feedback, it keeps your percentage up! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading to you too πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  4. I try not to read too many in a row that are similar. I don't want to get too burnt out on them, plus if they're too similar I start to compare a little too much. A book that might have been really good, just doesn't live up to the one I just read, so I end up disliking it. If I have a little bit of time between them, then it's better. Unless it's a series…then I binge on that series if it's really really good!

    Like

  5. Don't worry we're all crazy book loving lunatics here! haha. Book cravings are totally a thing and I usually end up reading a lot from the same genre before moving to another one too πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I also like to read the same genre or type of book over and over again. I usually do that until I get tired of it and have to move on to some other type of book. I am drawn to books by good reviews on blogs and definitely by their covers.

    My FF!

    Like

  7. That's pretty similar to what I do! I spend so much time browsing through Goodreads. My TBR is crazy. I have a read now, to read long list, to read short list. Like what the heck? Lol! As for choosing what to read next, I am a mood reader but I still am pretty indecisive when it comes to choosing my next great read. (:

    Here's my FF!

    Like

  8. I must admit that while I try not to judge a book on it's cover I do the same thing with Netgalley and l let covers sway my opinion. If I like the look of the book then I'll have a closer look at the book….. it's bad, I know!

    New GFC follower

    My FFFΒ  – Thea @ Gizzimomo's Book Shelf

    Like

  9. I'm a definite read what I'm in the mood for. Despite not judging a book by its cover, I'm a cover lover as well.

    I'll also do marathons of books as well if I loved the first one and I have the next in the series πŸ™‚

    New follower though GFC

    Lyndsi @ Roaming The Pages

    Like

  10. I do exactly the same on Netgalley! I just wish that you could filter by country, that would make it so much easier too!
    Thanks for following! I've followed you back via Bloglovin'.

    Lauren @ myexpandingbookshelf.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  11. I am so not judging on how you pick your Netgalley titles. I do the same exactly thing. If the title gets me, I'll read the summary. If the summary is good, I actually hop over to Goodreads real quick and see what other bloggers are rating it, and then I'll get it. LOL! Old follower.

    Shannon @ The Tale Temptress

    Like

  12. I know what you mean, sometimes I end up confusing characters and plots, then I know it's time to move on! I've ended my New Adult binge and I think my brain's thanking me for it! Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  13. Goodreads is a brilliant place to find books, I always check a book out on Goodreads to find out the average rating, read a few reviews and see if the book is for me! Thanks for following! πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  14. Wow, that's organised! Having different TBR lists is a great way to keep track of everything, and something I might do myself!! As much as I plan what I'm going to read it's all about the mood! Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

