My Reading Slump And A Little Update

I love reading, it’s the reason I started my blog and buy so many books! But I’ve only read two books this year, two books since October. I’ve been stuck in a reading slump of epic proportions. I honestly could not say why I haven’t really been reading, I have been busy, but not continually so for that whole period of time. I’ve maintained an interest in books and releases during the slump, but I haven’t been able to pick up a book.

I started bullet journaling in May, it’s a system I love and I can’t wait to add to my bujo everyday. I’ve included a habit tracker in each monthly spread, and one of my habits is reading. I didn’t read at all during the month of June, I read over five days in May. With having this information so visibly present in my bujo I can easily hold myself accountable for my lack of reading. So I’ve made it my mission to read in July. I’m not giving myself a set list of books, instead I’m giving myself the aim of reading at least two chapters a day. I’m happy to say that I’ve actually been sticking to this pretty successfully, yes it’s only a few days into the month, but I’ve done more reading already than I have in a very long time.

One of the books that I have read this year has been Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz. I am a total Hamilton fangirl so I knew I was going to love this book. And I did. I gave it a whopping five stars and I shall be sure to have a review up soon! I’m thinking that my next read will be a fantasy, because I haven’t read one in so long. Although I have been craving a bit of historical fiction, so recommendations would be highly appreciated!

I’m creating a summer tbr for myself with a list of all the books I want to try and get through this summer, my final summer before entering the working world! My graduation is just around the corner and I can honestly say that my time at uni has flown by! My four years at uni have come to an end however I shall soon be appreciating the payday excitement, and it would be wrong of me to not invest some of that in books! I would really appreciate some book recommendations or releases for me to keep an eye on so that I can make some purchases come August/September time.

Please leave book recommendations in the comments, and if you have a blog leave a link so that I can check out your blog too!

Leave a Reply

